Lawdy, Miss Scarlett, I don’ know nothin’ ’bout takin’ no pitchers!

Have you noticed my humongous improvements in photography lately?  What, you haven’t?  Oh.  Well, that’s probably because there haven’t been many improvements.

See, I finally printed the owner’s manual off of the internet.

DSCF1579It’s in that black binder.

DSCF1578See?  There it is, in all its black-and-white, small-print glory.  And I’ve been meaning to read it.  Really.  But these other things have been getting in the way.  Like our new installment of Netflix: Flight of the Conchords.

Flight-of-the-Conchords-718566It is strange, and funny, and it’s impossible to read a camera manual while I’m watching it.

And this, that I also started reading in October:

DSCF1585And I’m enjoying it, but let me tell you, this sucker is thick.

DSCF1576See?  Seven hundred thirty three pages.

And no pictures!

And see this bookmark?

DSCF1577Yeah, I’m not even half way through.  I just renewed the book from the library, and I now have until December 4 to finish it.

So you see, I haven’t had much time for learning about my camera.

Oh, except one thing I did learn?  Don’t use Dollar General batteries in it.  Because while I love the Dollar General, their batteries were not made for use in high-falutin’ cameras.  The batteries died in about two days.

DSCF1582

But I did have a little time to check out a photo editing website that I found when looking at blogs the other day.  I wish I could remember which blog I was looking at when I found it; I would have given credit.  The site is Picnik.com.  You can upload your photos and edit them.  It’s totally free, and you don’t even have to register!  You can do it all without creating a username and password and adding it to your list of 657 other accounts you have because you need a username and password for everything.   However, you can choose to have an account if you want to, and that allows you to save a certain number of photos.  You can also have a paid account, which gives you more features.

So here’s what I have done with Picnik so far.  This is the photo I started with:

Sonic Flyer 1And on Picnik, I increased the contrast to 13, increased the exposure to 13, increased the saturation to 23, and rounded the corners.  And this was the result:

Sonic Flyer 2

I really like the effect that the rounded corners give, and I like how the colors are brighter.

In this next one, starting again with the original photo, I increased the temperature to 44 (made it warmer looking) and made it look like a Poloroid:

Sonic Flyer3

Increasing the temperature and making it Poloroid make it look kind of vintage.  And that’s cool.

So I might not be taking great pictures, but at least I’m learning how to do neat things with the pictures I do take.  I highly recommend Picnik.  I haven’t spent a lot of time there, but I absolutely love that you don’t have to register, and that they have so many really cool features for free.

But I still have lots of reading to do.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 11:32:16

    I LOVE that second picture with the rounded edges. So lovely and vintage!

  2. rita
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 17:52:08

    That is so cool.
    Kim told me about Picnik to use with my blog banner (more font and placement options). Now I think I will edit the photo of Sam I just posted!
    Where do you find time to read sooooooooooooo much?

  3. Talley Mac
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 01:12:26

    I love picnick. its how I did the banner on my blog…

    You make me crack K!!! Hee hee Misses you!

