Monday Meal: Monte Cristos with apples and blackberry sauce

Sunday evening, Chef asked me, “What should I make for dinner tomorrow?”

“Hmmm,” I replied.  “I dunno.”

“I’m thinking Monte Cristos.”

Oh, goody!  Monte Cristos are this marvelous conjunction of sweet and savory.  And since they’re fried, I can hardly believe the State Fair hasn’t discovered them yet and started selling them.

Here’s what you do:  Start by making a ham and cheese sandwich.

DSCF1484

Ham, cheese (Chef used Swiss), and whatever condiments you like.  Ours had brown mustard and sweet & spicy mustard on them.

Then you’re going to “French-Toast-ize them,” as my husband so eloquently put it.  Make whatever eggy goodness you make when you prepare French Toast:  eggs, milk, maybe some cinnamon and nutmeg.  Then dip your sandwich into it.

DSCF1485

Get it all nice and coated with the egg mixture.

DSCF1486

Then place the sandwich into a pan in which you’ve got hot oil.

DSCF1487

DSCF1488

When they are nice and brown, you’ll have a delicious pile of them like this:

DSCF1489

Oh, but you’re not done yet.  Blackberry sauce…

DSCF1490

And apples…

DSCF1492

And powdered sugar…

DSCF1494

And NOW look at this:

DSCF1495

You can just as easily use jelly for a topping if you don’t want to make a blackberry sauce.  That’s what we’ve done in the past, but we had some blackberries and Chef figured why not use them?

Note:  these are not fat free, cholesterol free, gluten free, Kosher,  sugar-free, or vegetarian.  However, they are DELICIOUS.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 10:17:19

    Oh gosh, those look amazing! I wish had one of those for breakfast right now!!

  2. rita
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 12:24:14

    And we will be missing them? 😦

  3. Heather
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 15:22:02

    I’m always slightly confused by your Monday Night Dinner posts, because you post them on Mondays, but you don’t say “LAST” Monday Night Dinner, so while I assume that it is last Monday Night’s Dinner to which you’re referring, a small part of me wonders whether you live in a different time zone in which dinner has already happened by lunch time EST. Or perhaps a parallel universe where you start with dinner, then have lunch, and end up with breakfast at night. Which wouldn’t be so bad – I’m a huge fan of breakfast for dinner.

    PS – If you discover a Kosher Monte Cristo, would you let me know?

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 02, 2009 @ 15:27:17

      Ha! I’m sorry I confused you. I’m always writing about the previous Monday’s dinner. It seemed weird to me to have a post called “Monday Meal” and post it on Tuesday. Plus, this way I have a whole week to work on typing and uploading photos. It’s not always possible for me to get the post up the next day. So, we actually ate Monte Cristos on Monday, October 26.

      And Heather, when you can find me some Kosher ham, I will show you a Kosher Monte Cristo.

    • Chef
      Nov 04, 2009 @ 18:28:26

      Yes…it was a parallel universe and Rod McKay showed up and so did Bizzaro Jerry!

  4. Heather
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 15:06:29

    They probably make turkey ham, but I don’t think I want to try it. Ick.

  5. Trackback: Monday Meal: The Christmas Eve Edition « Small Town Runner
  6. Trackback: Monday Meal: Let’s Hear It For the Boyz « The Small Town Runner
