My Halloween-esque Post

I didn’t really post this because it’s Halloween tomorrow.  In fact, I don’t really do Halloween.  I don’t have any huge religious or moral objections to it.  I just don’t like scary stuff and I try to avoid eating too much candy.  And none of my friends have costume parties.  So when Halloween rolls around, Chef and I turn off the porch lights, lock the front door, and huddle on the couch to watch TV.  We haven’t been egged for that yet, so I hope our good fortune continues.

But Wednesday I was out walking in the neighborhood, and I had the camera with me.  (Chef found the neck strap!  So now I can carry it without worrying about dropping it.  He also found the lens cap, but the spring mechanism is broken and it won’t stay on, so I will have to continue worry about scratching the lens.)  There’s a little cemetery just a couple of blocks from my house, and I really like cemeteries.  I know a number of people who also like cemeteries, so I don’t think I’m weird or morbid or anything.  I just think they are nice, peaceful, and quiet places.

This particular cemetery has an older side and a newer side.  I prefer the older side where the stones are weathered and not so shiny.  There are stones there for men who fought in long-ago wars.  I want to say there is a Civil War soldier in there, but that seems really old and I couldn’t find the stone to back up this vague memory.

The old part of the cemetery isn’t in great shape.  A lot of the stones are broken or chipped, and many inscriptions are now illegible.  But I still like it.

DSCF1502I liked the long shadows here.

DSCF1506Here, the shadow of the bare tree added interest to the stone.

DSCF1509Three little stones.

DSCF1510I thought the juxtaposition of the dead tree with the headstones was apropos.   I also like that I just used “juxtaposition” and “apropos” in the same sentence.

DSCF1514It reads, “ANDREW DRAGOO DIED MAR. 12, 1865 Aged 32Y 10M 20D”  So young.  Also, March 12 is Chef’s birthday.  And the stone is so very weathered, it’s almost illegible.  It was for all those reasons that I took this photo.

DSCF1515There were a lot of broken and toppled monuments, but this one was probably the most dramatic.

DSCF1518Okay, maybe I’m over-thinking this, but I liked how the photo shows a progression from death to life.  The stones represent death, the tree behind it is alive but going dormant and the leaves are dying, and the house and car in the rear are evidence of life.  On a more superficial level, I just liked the tree as a backdrop to the monument.  (Honesty: that was the real reason I took the photo.  The whole death to life progression came later.  Like, just now, as I was uploading the picture.)

DSCF1519My parting shot.  I like how this photo shows the variety of stones — tall, short, square, round.  You can even see some of the new, shiny ones way in the back.

So, anyway, Happy Halloween, if you’re into that sort of thing.  And if not, I still hope you enjoyed the photos.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 09:51:39

    Love your new little running-girl-icon!
    The photos, too!
    (I just posted a Happy Halloween-type post as well.)
    BTW, I detected a couple typos. (The teacher in me can’t help mentioning this.)

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Oct 30, 2009 @ 10:00:51

      Are you sure? I proofread this about six times. I went through it just now and didn’t find any typos.

      Chef created that logo for me. If you click on it, you’ll go to the About page, where you’ll see the whole thing. (WordPress makes you use a square picture for your Gravatar, so I couldn’t put the whole thing on the front page.)

  2. Heather
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 11:49:46

    I like cemeteries too. In fact, all the women on my mom’s side like them. I don’t think you’re weird at all. Although your dreams about Stargate are a little off the wall.

