Visiting the Parents

Last weekend, Chef and I took a road trip down to my hometown to visit my parents.   We were prepared to eat too much, because we always do that when we visit my parents.  My mom is a wonderful cook.  Want to see some of the goodies we had?

Peach pie, from scratch, made from peaches that grew on my parents’ peach tree.

DSCF1456

Delectable.

Rhubarb pie, made from rhubarb my mother grew.

DSCF1457I must admit, as much as I love rhubarb pie, I didn’t have any this time.  I just kept eating peach pie, because it was soooo good.

Coffee cake for breakfast.

DSCF1458Oddly enough, I don’t drink coffee when I eat coffee cake.  I drink juice.  Just a bit of Karen-trivia for you.

Cookies.

DSCF1459This time of year, Mom puts cookies in her nifty glass cookie jar shaped like a pumpkin.  But the cookies weren’t pumpkin cookies.  They were whole wheat chocolate chip cookies.  The chocolate chips make up for the whole wheat.  Or maybe the whole wheat makes up for the chocolate chips.  Mom says she feels like these are healthier than chocolate chip cookies made with regular flour.  I’m not sure I agree, but I didn’t want to disappoint her.

We didn’t just eat sweets all weekend, though.  We ate plenty of other stuff, too, but I was so eager to eat it that I didn’t take photos.

There’s an art exhibit in their city right now.  It’s by this guy who does marquetry.  It’s these huge panels of Biblical scenes, made from teeny tiny pieces of wood.  It’s like a mosaic, and actually I’m not sure what the difference is between marquetry and mosaic.

DSCF1463I was impressed.

DSCF1466The photos truly do not do it justice.

DSCF1464That’s my dad, looking at one of the panels.

DSCF1472They were really big panels…

DSCF1474… made from teeny tiny pieces.

I would have gone insane trying to put it together.

And that, my friends, is why I write instead of doing marquetry.

For more information on this guy and his art, check out this site.

After we saw the art display, we went back to the house and ate.  I mean, with food that good, what else would you want to do?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thelma
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 09:06:57

    Oh goodness, your mom’s goodies look delicious! And that marquetry is very neat! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like that!

  2. Tracy
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 10:06:25

    That peach pie looks delicious! I looooove rhubarb pie though. 🙂

  3. rita
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 15:34:23

    No wonder peach pie is your favorite. Concannon’s does not match Mama Mounts’!
    I’d never heard of marquetry before. I played the interview from his website for Sandy and me. Very interesting.

  4. Kim
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 15:56:55

    Peach pie — yummy! Our tree is loaded again this year and since Ivan sprayed (three times as indicated) we hope to be fairly bug-free. Come January I’ll be posting photos of our own peach pies!

    I love wood art like that. Will have to go check out his site. Yesterday I saw the coolest knife set in a wooden holder thingy (is there a name for those things?) in two colors of wood, light and dark. Stunning! I especially love practical things like that that look like art.

