“Words, words, words”

(Ten points if you can name that Shakespearean play!)

I discovered today that I can’t type the word “Indian” without typing “Indiana” and backspacing to delete the last A.  I suppose that’s the result of being a lifelong Hoosier.

Before I was married, and maybe for a couple of months afterward, I couldn’t type my last name properly.  It ends in CH, and I always typed CK instead.  (Lots of words end with CK, but not so many with CH.)  That’s another one I always had to fix.  Don’t worry, though.  I’ve been married over nine years now, and I can type my last name.  Although sometimes when my fingers are going too fast, I mistype my first name, and it comes out Kaern.

A friend of mine has a brother named Justin.  She said she always types his name “Justing” and has to fix it.

And as for spelling, I can never remember how to spell “privilege.”  (Privelege?)  Plus, just look at it.  What a weird word.

What words do you misspell or mistype on a regular basis?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 19:48:36

    responsability or responsibility?
    Brittish or American spelling?
    What I hate is when the word processor decides for me what is correct!

  2. Thelma
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 09:18:40

    My name, nine times out of ten. I’ve always found that somewhat alarming.

    And that’s from Hamlet, my dear. 🙂

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Oct 23, 2009 @ 09:30:48

      Yay Thelma! You got it right! I knew there had to be others who have read and/or loved this play as much as I.

  3. Nikki
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 18:05:37

    Shoot. Someone beat me… I wanted to be the smartypants who knew it was ‘Hamlet’… 🙂

