Breakfast Burrito

DSCF1420This morning, I got up, ran a couple of miles in the cold rain, and came home and took a nice hot shower.  Then I needed to find breakfast, and it needed to be a hot breakfast.  Cold cereal would not do.  First, because it was cold and I just ran in the cold rain.  Second, because we’re almost out of milk.

Really, we don’t have a lot of food in the house right now, so it was time to get creative.  We had some diced onions in the fridge, leftover from a week ago when we made Chili 5-way for dinner.

DSCF1407I heated a little oil in a skillet and put a handful of onions in.  (Not a literal handful because that would have made my hands smell all oniony.  But the equivalent of a handful.)  I sauteed them until they were transparent, and starting to get a little bit brown.  (I took a photo of them getting all nice and brown, but it was all blurry and would have made your eyes cross, so I refrained from posting it.)

DSCF1409I poured in three beaten eggs.  I use a little milk in my eggs, too.  It makes them fluffier.  I estimate about a tablespoon of milk per egg.

DSCF1410I scrambled the eggs with the onions.  Just stir it all around and chop it up so you get some good scrambly action going on.  When the eggs were done, I set them aside.  I put them in a plastic bowl as opposed to a metal or glass bowl because the plastic didn’t seem as cold, and I wanted to make sure the eggs stayed as warm as possible.  I don’t really know if the choice of plastic made a difference, but it made me feel better.

DSCF1411Then I heated some leftover chili in the skillet.  This was also left over from when we had Chili 5-way.  I used a slotted spoon in order to get as much liquid off as possible.  (Interesting aside:  Chef had this Indian friend named Charu when he was in culinary school.  One time, Charu was giving us the recipe for something, and he said, “It should not be liquidy.”  So now every time I think of draining liquid off of something, I think to myself, in an Indian accent, “It should not be liquidy.”)  If you have onions in your chili, you probably don’t need the sauteed onions at the beginning.  This chili was onionless, so that’s why I put onions in.

When the chili is hot, set that aside, too.

DSCF1412Now, I was making two breadkfast burritos, so I used half the ingredients in each.  If you’re making more, adjust accordingly.  I put half the eggs on half of a flour tortilla.  I think it’s a 10 inch tortilla.

DSCF1413Then I put half the chili on top of the eggs.  If I’d had cheese, I would have smothered this in cheese.  Chef calls me a Cheese Fiend.  I’m a little sad that I didn’t have cheese for this, because it would have been reeeeeally good.  But it was good anyway.

DSCF1414After I heated a little more oil in the skillet, I folded the tortilla in half and placed it in the skillet.  When it got nice and brown on the bottom, I flipped it over.

DSCF1415I got the other side nice and brown, too.

DSCF1420

I put it on a plate and topped it with a dollop of sour cream.

Then I did the same thing with the other half of the ingredients, and I told the dogs, “Go wake Daddy!  Go tell him breakfast is ready!”  They ran around in circles and then looked at me.  So I had to go wake him myself.  He liked the food, so it was all okay.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 08:36:49

    I never thought of putting left over chili in a breakfast burrito… great idea!

    Cheese would have been totally been delicious on it!

  2. Tracy
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 10:34:23

    This looks delicious, yum! Perfect for a cold, rainy morning.

  3. Rita
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 15:53:56

    You are quite the Chefess, or is it the Mrs. Chef!
    That looked yummilicious!

  4. Rita
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 15:59:35

    BTW, I really like your step by step photo description.
    (Is that what Pioneer Woman does?) But how do you get those photos?

