Rainy Run

It’s a cold, rainy day.  The kind of day you would rather just stay cuddled up in bed all day, reading a book and drinking a cup of tea.

But I had to get up, and I knew I needed to run.  My half marathon is coming up this Saturday.  I’ve tapered this week (meaning that I’ve cut back on mileage in order to rest my body before the big race), but if I don’t run at all, I’ll be stiff and cold on Saturday.

So a two-miler was in order.  I wore a long-sleeved shirt topped by a red fleece sweatshirt, and long black tights, stripey gloves on my hands and a stocking cap on my head.  I had to decide about the shoes — do I wear the new Nikes?  I think I’m comfortable in them, but if I should want to return them, I would need to be careful not to get them dirty.  I’ve run twice in them on the treadmill, but running on the road would be making a commitment.  I could instead run in the old Brooks.  They’re broken down, but I wasn’t going far, so maybe I’d be okay.

I decided to take the plunge and wear the Nikes.  And you know what?  They were fine.  My shins were hurting just a little, but I think that’s mostly because the shoes are maybe made at a different slant or something, and I have to adjust my biomechanics.  It didn’t feel like shin splints — just a little soreness.

Down the road, over the railroad tracks, and around the corner.  The run was going well.  The rain was light, and although it was cold, I wasn’t getting soaked.

Down the road, past the barking dog that is always chained to a tree, around the corner, and back over the railroad tracks.  I was trying to decide whether I should walk, or keep pushing.

Up the hill, left at the side street, and I decided to keep pushing.

Around the curve, left at the T, down the hill past the library.  I thought about the Farmer’s Market that is in the library parking lot each Friday.  I don’t think I’ll be able to go this week because I have to drive to Indianapolis to pick up my race packet.

Left at the light, across the creek, left at the side street, past the cemetery.  I like to walk through cemeteries sometimes.  I like looking at the old headstones, and there are some really old ones in this cemetery.  Some so old you can barely read the engraving anymore.

Right at the church, then left onto my street, then I was back at my house.

It was a good run.  I think I’ll be ready for the race.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 10:32:32

    Great!
    Hope the weather cooperates Saturday.
    So proud of you for persevering.

