New shoes

It’s official.  I hate my new shoes.

I bought my new shoes on August 28.  The purchasing experience fell short of my expectations, but since I was buying version 9 of Brooks Adrenalines, and since I loved versions 7 and 8, I figured it would all turn out okay.  Besides, the new version has pretty little flowers on them.  And I’m all about being girly and tough at the same time.  (Just like Vala Mal Doran , who is my new favorite TV character.  She complains if she breaks a fingernail, bit give her a P-90 and she’ll kick some serious booty.)

Anyway, shortly after I purchased the shoes, I got sick with a cold, then the flu, then a cold again.  As a result, I didn’t spend a lot of time running in September.  At least, not as much as I’d have liked, and not enough to realize that these shoes were not going to work.  They were a little snug, but I thought with some creative shoe-tying and a little time, they’d be okay.  No such luck.  Whenever I run in them, I get a blister on my left arch, and my bunions feel as if they are being squeezed in a vice.

Unfortunately, the policy at the store where I bought them is that you can return them within two weeks for a full refund, or you can return them within a month for store credit or exchange.  It’s past a month now, but I really hate these shoes.  I called the store today and asked if there was any flexibility in their policy, and Janet (a very nice sales associate) said, “Well… not really.”  I told her the situation, and she asked when I might be able to come.  I said I could probably make it Wednesday.  (The store is 45 minutes from my house, and I have commitments after work on both Monday and Tuesday.)  She said that in order for any exception to be made, I would have to get there no later than Wednesday and that even then, she couldn’t guarantee anything as the shoes would have to be in saleable condition.

Hm.  I’m not sure if they are in good enough condition or not.  I’ve run just 49 miles in them.  I don’t think they are too bad, but I don’t know what they would be looking for.  So I have to try to determine now whether to take a 45 minute drive to see if the shoes are returnable, or instead try to sell them on e-Bay and buy other shoes some other time. 

I have just two days to make up my mind.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 15:33:55

    I would imagine they’d let you exchange them, especially if you show them pictures of your blisters. Clean them up the best you can and take a chance. Otherwise, Craigslist is always a good option too.

  2. Stephanie D.
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 17:10:47

    This has nothing to do with running, since that is something I only do if a child is in peril of their life. That said, I had to say that Vala Mal Doran is my heroine. She rocks.

  3. Kim
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 20:09:47

    Clean ’em up real good. Too bad I can’t loan you my “Mr. Muscle” all purpose cleaner — this stuff’ll take everything off anything 🙂 Seriously, I squirt that on the bottom of my Reboks, let it sit for a couple minutes, scrub the soles with a brush and they look good as new. There’s gotta be something equivalent in the U.S.

  4. Rita
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 09:34:31

    They gave you till Wednesday, that may be a sign, or not.
    Who is this Vala chick? What show?

  5. Thelma
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 11:29:25

    Ack! A Stargate fan, a writer AND a runner! Seriously, where have you been?

