Rattling and Rustling

On Tuesday, I was driving home from work.  It was a nice day, so I had the windows open.  I heard this rattle coming from my car.  Now, my car is getting older, and it does have a rattle that I’ve been noticing lately, but this was a new rattle.  It had a higher pitch, and instead of coming from underneath the car, it sounded like it was coming from inside the car.  Only that didn’t make any sense.

I also kept hearing papers rustling in the wind.  I don’t have any books or notebooks or papers in my car, so I couldn’t figure out where that was coming from either.  I kept looking in my mirror and turning around to check out the back seat to see if I could figure out where the rustling was coming from.  I didn’t see anything, except when a piece of paper flew violently from somewhere in or around my car, back behind me into the road.  “Goodness,” I thought.  “Where did that come from?”

A couple of times, I almost pulled over to see if I could figure out where the rattle and the rustle were coming from, but since the distance from work to home is only six miles, I thought I could just wait.  I turned into the bank parking lot as I do every day, because I have to deposit the money from work.  There’s a sharp turn in the lot to get to the drive-through.  As I made that turn, I heard glass shatter.  That made me really nervous.  I pulled into a parking space, and quickly got out of the car to take a look.  All the windows, headlights, and tail lights were in perfect condition.  What could have shattered?

I walked over to the turn where I’d heard the glass, and there on the pavement lay one of our breakfast plates in about 40 pieces.  I returned to my car and discovered that on top of the car was my husband’s Bible.  The roof rack had prevented it from flying off, but a lot of the pages were bent.

On Sunday we had been running a little late for church, so I had made Chef a sandwhich and put it on a breakfast plate.  I drove to church so he could eat on the way.  When we got home, he picked up the plate to take it inside the house.  Apparently he got distracted with something else and put the plate and his Bible on top of my car.  The roof of my car is tall enough that I wouldn’t see something sitting on top of it unless I was looking for it.

The funny thing is that I drove that car to work on Monday, and home again, and then to work on Tuesday and didn’t notice a thing. 

Chef said he’d been wondering where his Bible was.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 06:41:18

    May the Word scattered abroad not come back empty 🙂

