Awaking

It’s like my legs have been asleep for a long time.  They’ve forgotten how to truly move in a way that exhibits LIFE.

It has been a week since my last real run.  The last run before that was a week prior.  The last run before that was a week and a half before.  I’ve been really out of the groove.

Today, I’m getting back on track.  I wrote myself a reminder on the bathroom mirror last night so that I would run after work today.  Knowing that it’s written on the mirror is somehow motivating to me, maybe because it’s a visible reminder of my commitment and my plan.

When I started running, it felt like my legs were waking up from a long sleep, and they weren’t terribly happy about it.  I could almost hear them say, “Wha…?  What’s happening?  What do you think you’re doing to us?”  I told them we were running, and that they may have forgotten, but they love this.  I reminded them that some days, they take over and refuse to slow down even when I know we’re pushing too hard.  They protested.  They wanted to walk, “just for a little bit,” but today my brain and my will kept the upper hand.  I was in control, and although I nearly gave in at the half-way point, I kept my resolve strong and ran until I reached my house.

We’ll do it again tomorrow, and eventually my legs will be fully awake and alive again.  And we will run and run and run.Karen Cardinal Greenway 10K

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon Hoyt
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 00:03:16

    I’m reading “The Unforgiving Minute” right now and one of the author’s favorite lines from his instructors at West Point was, “Pain is just weakness escaping the body”. I thought of that while reading about your legs 🙂

  2. rita
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 11:10:54

    And I thought about # 4 of Benjamin Franklin’s “Articles of Belief & Acts of Religion” : Resolution–resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve.
    About your photo, I wish I had asked for it off the board. What are they going to do with it?

