Cornerstone Adventure: Day 3 (July 3)

I poke Chef when I wake.  “Do you want to walk me down to the showers?” I ask.  I see them on the map, but I haven’t been there and the map isn’t clear to me.  “No,” he replies sleepily, “but I’ll give you some tips.”  I say tips would be fine, and I await his wisdom.  “Well?” I ask.  He answers, “Are you going to show me the map?”  I give him a puzzled look.  “But your eyes are closed.”  In his sleepy state, he seems to think this point is irrelevant, along with the fact that I am holding the map in front of his face.  He finally gives me directions that still seem a bit nebulous to me, but as I know I’m not going to get anything more, I grab my bag and head out.

I decide to run, since I haven’t run in a while.  But the roads are rocky with steep hills, and the sun is right in my eyes.  At one hill, I must stop to walk, which is okay because I know I’m close to the showers but I don’t see them yet.  However, I do spy a mother and daughter, each with a towel, so I follow them.

The showers, while nothing luxurious by any means, are nice enough for camping, and I feel better when I’m finished.  I then hike back to the campsite, hang my towel on the clothesline, and sit down to wait for everyone to wake up.

When Rita gets up, she seems uncertain about what to do for breakfast.  I rustle up some pancake mix and start cooking flapjacks and smoky links for the crowd, which includes a few friends from the site next to ours: Lisa and Josh & Michelle & Heron.  After that, today is much like yesterday with everyone doing their own thing.  Gina and I find some deals at the Merch Tent because it’s nearing the end of the week and vendors want to get rid of their stuff.  Chef goes to town to purchase a few grocery items and makes Chicken Coconut Curry for dinner.  Later, Mike and Chef and I meet Rita at the coffee tent.  It starts to rain, and I’m glad our tent has a rain fly and that Mike had us put the chairs under the awning before we left camp.

Stephan is ready for the rain!

Chef is ready for the rain!

The four of us return to camp.  It’s raining only lightly, and we talk and play games with Gina and the kids.  A few of us decided to walk to the bottom of the hill to watch the fireworks.  It’s nothing spectacular, but it’s a nice show and a satisfying end to the evening.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 10:36:13

    I am really enjoying your Cornerstone narrative!
    Your words add much to the photos and the memories.
    BTW, what is ‘up put’? 🙂

  2. rita
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 10:37:38

    Oh, forgot to say how VERY grateful to you I was for stepping in and cooking/koching breakfast!

  3. Karen
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 10:46:46

    Ah, no matter how many times I proofread, I’m bound to miss something. I’ve changed it now. The “up” was supposed to be “us.” Thanks.

