Changes!

Greetings, lovely readers.

Since it’s the season for giving thanks, the first thing I want to do is thank you for reading and commenting.  I really enjoy writing, and it’s nice to have an audience.  I think that by continuing to write, I’m developing my style and my interests, and that’s really fun for me.  I hope it’s fun for you, too.

I’ve been blogging for about a year and a half, and I’m ready to make some BIG changes!

As time has passed, I’ve realized that Small Town Runner isn’t the best name for my site or my online identity.  I am a runner, and I do live in a small town, but those characteristics are only a small part of who I am.  I really started thinking about what really, truly characterizes me, and the name Small Town Runner just doesn’t quite do it.

Also, I’ve been wanting to have my own domain name.  The idea for an online identity shift (sounds like a psychiatric disorder!) was affected by that desire as well, because as I looked into getting my own domain, there was already a blog called SmallTownRunner.com (although it hadn’t been updated in years) and a Twitter account with the user name @SmallTownRunner (so I had to change mine to @Small_Town_Runr, which I never really liked.)

In thinking about getting my own domain, I also decided that I wanted to shift to another platform that would give me more flexibility with what my site looks like (for example, having multiple dynamic pages and more control over design templates) while still remaining very easy to use.  I don’t want to learn HTML or CSS.

So the changes are coming in December!  I’ll be changing my site to one powered by Squarespace, and I’ll have a new name and a new identity.  The new site will still have much of what I have been doing — talk of food, gardening, home life, running, and becoming debt free — but I’m going to add some new things, too.

One of the first items I’m going to add is menu planning. I know that if I don’t have a plan, I tend to wander around the kitchen, staring into the cupboards until I’m ravenous.  I bet a lot of you are that way, too.  Planning my meals has been a huge sanity-saver for me.  I am very lucky in the fact that my husband is a fabulous cook and helps out a lot with meal preparation.  But a lot of households have just one person trying to plan and cook meals every day, and they would love to have a list of ideas to choose from.  While there may be more comprehensive menu plans out there, I hope the one I have will be a good starting place for fellow kitchen-wanderers.  And it will be FREE!

I’ve got other ideas on additions to the site, as well, but I want to do a little at a time so I don’t overwhelm myself.

In just a couple of days, I’ll put up another post pointing you to my new website.  I hope to import all my other blog posts to the new site, too, so everything will be kept together.

If you happen to follow me on Twitter, you’ve already started to see some changes.  But fret not.  You’ll get the whole scoop soon.

The Small Town Runner site will be quiet for a few days while I get everything worked out.  I hope it won’t take too long, and I intend to be blogging at the new place by the second week of December, and maybe even by December 1.

I hope you’ll continue to follow me in my new location with my new name!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 09:55:37

    Exciting! Looking forward to all the new features. Menu plans may be a great help. I had given up trying to plan, but may try yours and see how they work for us.

  2. Steph Fisher
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 20:20:09

    OOoooooh, menu planning! i likee.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

