Dreaming of Being Debt-Free

Just recently, I came across a link to an article that had been posted to Dave Ramsey’s website in September.  It was about what dreams people have for when they are debt free.  (You can find the article here.)

I’ve been dreaming more than usual lately.

First of all, we really, truly hope to have completed our debt snowball by this time next year.  I’ve been racking my brain to come up with extra ways to earn income in order to help meet that goal.  (By the way, I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to determine whether it’s “racking” my brain or “wracking” my brain.  I’m still not sure, but the information I found leaned toward “racking.”)  The little book I wrote is selling, but not so well that we’re rolling in the dough.  My work with Demand Studios has fallen by the wayside because they’ve changed their site quite a bit and I’m having a very difficult time finding topics I know something about.  And of course, my participation in the research study is down the tubes since my experiences with them have been less than great.  I’ve considered another part-time job, but with working four ten-hour days at the doctors’ office, plus at least a few hours a week for Chef’s business, on top of upcoming surgery, I’m having a hard time figuring out what I could feasibly do.  Right now, I’m seriously considering putting my “fun money” toward our debt.  (Chef and I each get a pre-determined amount of “fun money” each paycheck.  He gets his bit and I get my bit.  I would not ask him to contribute his bit toward the debt, but I’m thinking about sending my bit off to Visa… or at least half of my bit.  Because you know what I think would be really fun?  Being debt-free!)

I’ve become really antsy in my full-time job.  Maybe it’s because I don’t have a lot of tasks there that I enjoy and that I feel really match my skill set.  Maybe it’s because the bosses don’t do a great job of making me (and the rest of the staff) feel appreciated.  Maybe it’s because I can see a light at the end of the tunnel, and I am just super-eager to get to the end.  I’m not sure, but while I am trying to work on having a good attitude in my job, I admit that I feel that the sooner I’m done there, the better.  So that’s making me want to push even harder toward getting all that debt paid off.

The other thing that has me chomping at the proverbial bit is the fact that Chef and I have been more active in our dreaming lately.  We’ve always had ideas of building a house out in the country.  We want to have a great big garden and to raise some animals — chickens, goats, rabbits, and honey bees.  We want to continue to have people over for meals, and we also want to be better able to minister to missionaries on home assignment by offering them a place to stay for the weeks or months that they are in our area of the country.  And Chef and I, over the years, have gone in waves where we think about these plans a lot for a while, and then we don’t think about them for a while.

Right now, we’re thinking about it a lot.

We’ve been looking at house plans, barn plans, and lots for sale (like the one below.  So pretty!)

photo courtesy mibor.com

 

I’m so eager to get there.  I want that little house in the country, and I want to make meals consisting of braised rabbit, goat cheese, eggs, honey, and fruits and vegetables from our own land.  I want to be a homemaker, keeping our home cozy and comfortable (rather than messy and barely functional, which is how it feels sometimes right now.)

I also want to be debt-free so we can give more and serve more.  We have some causes we support a little bit right now, but we really want to increase our giving.  And we really enjoy being hospitable to guests, and we want to be able to do more of that as well.  But with working so much and not having a lot of extra money, we’re not able to do as much as we’d like to.

All these dreams and desires are motivation.  I’m eager and I’m anxious.  And that makes me think harder about how to move the train along a little faster.

I’ll let you know if I come up with any great ideas.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 14:25:41

    It’s fun to dream! And often dreams become reality.
    Where is that pretty land?

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 10, 2010 @ 14:35:35

      It’s VERY close to where we live now! Probably three miles from our current home, at most.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

