Physical and Financial Fitness

It’s long past time to pull out the old Sonic Flyer.

I wanted to ride my bike earlier this spring, but I noticed that the back tire had a rather large bulge in it.  Fearful that the tire might pop while I was miles away from home, I put off riding until we saved up for a new tire.  Finally, the money for the tire fit in the budget, and Chef and I went to the store to buy it.  And then the tire sat on the kitchen counter for a while.

I asked my father-in-law, cyclist-extrordinaire, to help me change the tire.  He agreed, and came over one evening for dinner and we went into the garage to get the job done.

Only, Chef and I don’t really have any tools in our garage.  (This was a confusing concept to our neighborhood friend, Dennis the Menace, who came over one evening asking to borrow a set of Allen wrenches.  Chef told him we didn’t have any.  Dennis said, “But you have that garage out there!”)  There used to be tools in the garage, but when Chef moved his business out of the home a few years ago, the tools went with the business.  We really need to buy tools for home.

Anyway, we needed a wrench to get the wheel off the bike, and we didn’t have one.  So the bike had to keep waiting forlornly in the garage.

A week later, I came home to find that the wheel was off my bike.  Hooray!  Chef had brought home a wrench and taken off the wheel and replaced the tire.  The next day, he put the wheel back on, and I went for a nice five mile ride after work.

A couple of years ago, when gasoline got up to $4 per gallon, I started riding my bike to work.   Although gasoline is cheaper now, I think it’s high time I started taking the old Sonic Flyer to work a couple of days a week.  Mondays and Thursdays I have to drive to the post office to get the company mail, and there’s no good way to get from the post office to my workplace on a bike, and on Wednesdays I work for Chef.  But I think it’s completely reasonable for me to ride to work on Tuesdays and Fridays.  Thankfully, there is a shower at the doctors’ office, so I can freshen up before I start the work day.  The office is a mere six miles from my house, and it takes me a little over half an hour to ride it.  Since I start work at 6:30 in the morning, I know I have only a short time before it’s back to being pitch black in the morning, and I don’t feel safe riding when it’s really dark.  But for now, the sun is starting to come up by the time I would need to leave, and I have a reflective vest I can wear, as well as a blinking red light to clip onto my back.

I honestly don’t know how much gas money I would save by doing this, but I know it would be some.  And some is better than none, right?  Plus, it will help me shave off the pounds I’ve been trying to lose.

Do any of you bike or walk or run to work?  If so, is it for your physical fitness, your financial fitness, or both?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 13:36:02

    I think that’s a great idea! Unfortunately my commute to work is 30 minutes, so there’s no way I’d ride a bike there. :-P But I wish I could!

  2. riTa
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 15:21:24

    Good for you, Karen!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

